Posted by: savayla | October 13, 2009

Best Bread Ever

I am gluten intolerant but the rest of my family is not.  And, if the odd occassion does arise (like on Sunday where I was  forced to eat  home baked bread with a champagne cheese fondue as there was nothing else ), then I really appreciate a good loaf.  I don’t drink coffee, but I love the smell of freshly roasted coffee.  I guess the same is for bread.

For the past 5 months I have been baking a loaf of bread every morning.  Now that is love.  I don’t eat it.  I have eaten one slice, but it is the smell in the house, the healthiness of it and the fact that I am now the hero in the house,  that keeps me going.  My daughters and husband love this bread.   And the fact that it is so painless.  That is the most important factor.  Make it painless and quick and you will not give  up.

I have done a lot of baking as I used to run a gluten-free baking business when I was mad. I  was waking up at 5am to bake, with a 9 month old toddler upstairs and an unknown bun in the oven.  I was so exhausted but at least the bun turned out to be Ayla.    I love the good old beer bread (see the recipe when I post )  and corn bread.  The easier and tastier, the better.  My savoury raison bread is always a hit, especially served with a  breakfast brunch of scrambled eggs, bacon wrapped mushrooms and a good home-made  chilli and garlic sauce.

The bread in Malaysia is always sweet, light and fluffy.  Hmmmm, that sounds like candyfloss.  The bakery is in town, and apart from their baguettes which are ,oh ok, their bread is the same.    I wanted to make hamburgers and was searching for round rolls.  Nothing.  They had chocolate buns, sweetcorn buns, yam buns, sweet buns, sugar buns, and the list goes on, but no hamburger rolls, as we call them in SA.  So i decided to make them.  They were an absolute disaster, but the home-made tomato soup was delicious and made up for it.   The hunt was on for a good, easy recipe of proper yeast bread.  I tried a few, but discarded them until I came across this recipe on RecipeZaar.   http://www.recipezaar.com/Enjoy-No-Knead-Fridge-Friendly-Dough-Healthy-Bread-In-Just-5-Mi-260345

It is really, really good.  It is really really easy.  Both understatements.  I don’t think people believe me when I say that  I only spend 2 minutes on this bread every day.   It is a dough that takes me about 5 minutes to prepare and then I pop it into the fridge.  As I only have a small fridge, I only make one batch which gives me either 4 loaves or 3 loaves and some naan bread or pizza, which Kyle makes.   The dough lasts for 14 days in the fridge, only 4 in mine as I use it all up.  In the morning when I put the kettle on for tea, I get my small board, sprinkle some cornflour on it, take the dough out of the fridge, sprinkle some flour on it (1 minute ), grab a good handful, cut it off with a knife, then cloak it which takes about 10 seconds.  I place it on the board, set my watch and then , as the kettle still has not boiled, I switch on my computer.  After 40 minutes, I put on the oven for 5 minutes (mine is a very small one ), sprinkle some more flour onto the dough, cut a pattern on the top with scissors, pop it into the oven, and half an hour later a beautiful loaf of bread with a nice crust, and chewy insides.  Proper bread.

I was so impressed that I went and bought the book which the recipe comes from.  Artisan Bread in 5 minutes a Day by Jeff Hertzberg and Zoe Fancois.

Try it, you won’t be disappointed.

Just before it goes into the oven

Beautiful bread

Leave a Reply

Categories

