Posted by: savayla | October 22, 2009

Active Laziness

I started reading a new book that has already changed my life.   “The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying ” by Sogyal Rinpoche.    I have not been happy with all the time I spend on my laptop.  I put up this blog as I needed one for a chapter I wrote for a book and I have a need to write.  This has fulfilled it.   I had started my Yacht Savayla website for myself , my girls and family to keep track of us.   The website on Island Living was proposed and set up by a friend who does websites.  All together, I find that it takes too much of my time, time which should be spend going for a walk, playing a boardgame with my kids, or chatting to Kyle.

Last night, as I started reading this book, I read this passage  on “active laziness” which really made me think.

How many of us are swept away by what I have come to call an “active laziness”?  Naturally there are different species of laziness:  Eastern and Western.  The Eastern style is like the one practiced to perfection in India.  It consists of hanging out all day in the sun, doing nothing, avoiding any kind of work or useful activity, drinking cups of tea, listening to Hindi film music blaring on the radio, and gossiping with friends.  Western laziness is quite different .  It consists of cramming our lives with compulsive activity, so that there is no time at all to confront the real issues.

If we look into our lives, we will see clearly how many unimportant tasks, so -called “responsibilities” accumulate to fill them up.  One master compares them to “housekeeping in a dream “.

I decided then and there, that I would just focus on this blog and nothing else.  I will be doing a few more posts on this book as it stretches ones thinking, sometimes making me uncomfortable as I would like to practice some of its teachings, but am too selfish to.  That is for another time.

Making good use of time --  winding wool around Ayla's hands while we chat.

Responses

  1. Ooh, I’m going to pick up a copy of that book, it sounds like just what I’d like to be reading right now! Thanks for posting about it, I’ll look for future posts on the topic!


Leave a Reply

Categories

