Posted by: savayla | October 23, 2009

Beer Bread

This is one of my favourite recipes as it is so quick, easy and yummy.  Yes, I know that I don’t get to eat it, but I used to, and occasionally, if tummy is behaving very well, I will sneak a slice.  It is a variation of the one that my mom gave me years ago and that I always used.  The sugar and butter are added and it really makes a difference.

The girls, especially Ayla , love it and can wolf a loaf down in no time as it comes out of the oven.  It is very good for braai’s  (BBQ’s ) and a breakfast brunch.  I have also had success doing it in a cast iron pot with a lid on the fire.

It is so easy, that it was the second recipe to be included in Savannah’s recipe folder, after crumpets.  So, if a nearly nine year old can make it from scratch, then so can you.  The butter at the end can be omitted, in fact, I have lessened the original recipes butter and sugar.   Both can be omitted and your loaf will still come out nicely.  So play.

Just try and wrestle that can of  beer from hubby’s hands, or better yet, get him to make it !!!

Set  oven to 180 degrees celcius  (350 F, or Gas mark 4 )

Prepare your bread tin by wiping well with butter and then sprinkling flour over and all around .


3  cups flour

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/4 cup sugar  (I do light brown sugar as it gives the loaf a nice  colour and flavour )

1 can beer

1/4 cup melted butter


In a large bowl sift and combine the dry ingredients

Make a well in the centre and pour in the beer.

Mix well

Put wet, sticky dough into the bread tin and level with  your spoon

Add the melted butter and spread over the top

Bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour

Savannah proud with the loaf of beer bread she had just baked

Responses

  1. mmmmmm, that looks delicious. And easy! I will have to try it. Today hubby made sticky choc chip cookies. Life is good 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

