Posted by: savayla | November 5, 2009

Schooling and Creativity

We decided to homeschool our kids before we had even had them.  Not because we were bullied at school or did badly.  I was a prefect, very confident, excelled at gymnastics  and enjoyed school.  Kyle was deputy head boy, captain of the 1st Rugby team and excelled in athletics.  He received the Victor Ludorum cup for academics.

So, given our good school history, why don’t we want to send our kids to school?  Why do we choose to homeschool instead ?

Look at this link below and it will explain it very well, and give you a chuckle too.  It is of a talk given by Sir Ken Robinson on Schools and Creativity .  Here are the story highlights :

He says we are all born with great  natural talents, but schools systematically suppress many of those innate talents.  Schools using testing and other systems to narrowly assess students.  The devalue forms of creativity that don’t fit in  academic contexts.

http://www.cnn.com/2009/OPINION/11/03/robinson.schools.stifle.creativity/index.html

Here are a few reasons, taken from a site ( by Amy Bell who also used some of the reasons from Eric Anderson) years ago, about why we homeschool .  I have highlighted those I like the best .

  1. Because I think schools damage a child’s self-image, ability to make unassisted decisions, motivation, trust in herself.
  2. Because I think schools shortchange girls in science and math education and encourage violence in boys and girls.
  3. Because I do not value traditional measures of success
  4. Because I don’t trust people who don’t love my children to have their best interests at heart.
  5. Because I don’t want my children’s socialization to be hampered by being stuck with a random group of 25-35 agemates for 7 hours a day, 5 days a week.
  6. Because I don’t believe in traditional measures of “appropriate ” child behaviour.  (I have seen normal, and I don’t like it )
  7. Because I think schools are enormously ineffective places for learning .
  8. Because schools are fundamentally anti-intellectual, emphasize peer acceptance over moral values, and promote all the most trivial aspects of socialization.
  9. Because we believe a strong family life is important. This is impossible when families are separated for most of their waking hours.  We “like” being together .
  10. Because spending most of the day indoors with two dozen kids the same age is unnatural, unhealthy, and very, very limiting.  Children need to see much more of the world than that.
  11. Because we do so many interesting things, I don’t know how we’d fit in time for school.
  12. Because I think homeschooling helps my children be more secure, happier, and more accepting of others.
  13. Because I don’t like the idea of a school trying to teach values.
  14. Because I don’t trust the government with my money.  Why would I trust them with my children.
  15. Because I think learning is more meaningful when it is intrinsically motivated.
  16. Because our children can be exposed to more of the world by being with me than by being in a school.
  17. Because homeschooling allows long, uninterrupted blocks of time to work on an activity (which might involve daydreaming or planning or brainstorming )
  18. Children learn how to learn, not just how to be taught.
  19. Our boys will not learn to hate kissing and hugging and girls
  20. Our girls will not learn to lose themselves during adolescence.

Think about it.

Savannah and Ayla having one of their laughing fits

Leave a Reply

Categories

