Posted by: savayla | November 6, 2009

Needle Felting

Ok, smack me on the head if you all know about needle felting.  I know it is part of the Waldorf curriculum, and so it will be introduced with our Enki curriculum which is a mix of Waldorf, Montessori and Global Cultures.  I received a package yesterday which was long overdue, and to say thanks, they included a needle felting kit.  It had  the usual carded wool which I have, but it also included two felting needles. Not knowing what it was, I spent a fair while watching You Tube tutorials  last night and was blown away at what you can make with a little needle and some carded wool.  Ayla left her friends and came to watch too, getting all excited.

Before Enki, I had no idea what carded wool, or wool roving, was.  It is pure wool (sheep, alpaca, sometimes silks ) that has been washed, teased and then brushed so the fibres are straightened, clean, separated and  ready for spinning.

This morning I woke up early, actually I hardly slept last night, and decided to try something out.  Just a little ball.  That was so simple, so I went on to turn it into a ladybug.  WOW !!!  I felt like an absolute genius.  Kyle was so impressed too.  Ayla then woke up and I proudly presented it to her.  I received so many hugs and soft kisses that I think I need to make something new every morning.  I was trying to figure out what to make for Savannah, who was still fast asleep.  Ayla suggested a sheep as she had seen them on You Tube last night.  So off we went, me doing it, Ayla giving me tips.  This soon bored her and she asked if she could make a butterfly.  Ok, so off she went, me helping with all the difficult bits.  It is so easy for kids, just have to  watch that sharp needle poking into those soft little fingers.   Savanna loves her sheep and is busy playing with it now, and she even started her own lady bug and made the antennae for Ayl’as butterfly.

We have a spinning wheel here which we bought for a song off a Scottish Lady.  No sheep on this island !!  I am thinking of experimenting with spinning some wool.  Can’t wait to be in New Zealand where I want to take the girls and get our wool straight off a sheep, wash it ourselves, tease, card and spin.  What a fun project to look forward to.

For rainbow sheep go to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nEhjPIs95M&feature=related .  I watched this last night so no idea if I followed it properly and mine is much smaller.

For a woman named Kay Petal, who does incredibly beautiful, funny and expressive people  http://www.youtube.com/user/feltalive

So, here are our creations.  I have not trimmed them yet, so they are all quite hairy, as sheep should be, but not lady bugs.  As beginners we are so proud of ourselves. Mrs Ladybug Dolly the sheep Ayla and her butterfly

Responses

  1. How awesome are those little critters. You all did a great job. Keep up the good work. Needle felting has been one of my favorite arts for a couple of years now.

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement. Only one day and I am hooked on poking !!! LOL.


Leave a Reply

Categories

