Posted by: savayla | November 24, 2009

Life is a rollercoaster and sometimes you can’t get off

 

 

What a cliche’ my title to this post is.  I can add a few more but I won’t bore you.

This weekend has been one of those rollercoaster rides.  Two ups and three downs.    It started off on Friday with Savannah’s 9th birthday party.  I will do another post on that as it was special and magical.  What an amazing day and night these girls had.  I wished that I was them !!!  That was the first high.

Then came the beginning of the low, we could not find Puggles, our cat.  He usually comes running when called, but nothing.  Suspecting that he had fallen as he is an avid climber and gets himself into trouble (we once found him on the top of the bathroom door !!! ) we searched where he could have fallen.  At 2am Kyle did his final search, but nothing.

Saturday  morning I went searching and found him in the basement.  It looked like he had dragged himself where we could find him.  Took him to the vet and the prognosis was not good.  His back legs were paralysed and his breathing very laboured.  What a down day.  4 little girls, pampered all night and now a sudden hit with the realities of life.

Sunday morning.  In better cheer as our wonderful vet Tim, had checked on Puggles at 9pm and he was regaining feeling in his back legs.  2am, Tim SMS’ed me that his vitals were good, but his breathing still laboured.   The  girls  had been invited out to breakfast in Chenang as a thank you for helping sweep all the flood waters out of the apartment block.    Tim phoned during breakfast, Puggles had just died .  I was so heartbroken but as a mommy, had to pretend that it was not Tim and that everything was fine.  I didn’t want to mess up their breakfast.

We brought him home ,still warm, to bury in the garden.  Two heartbroken girls, who brought him his favourite toys, some mint which he loved, his blanket, and lots of love.  We covered his grave with stones and coconuts, and beautiful flowers.  He even has a wooden sign with his full name  Mr. Pugface Puggles Stinky Mr. Bean.

Monday morning.  Coming back from Kuah with Savannah in the back, I was smashed from the behind at a red traffic light and my car pushed over the road.  My first accident ever.  Surrounded by about 30 people, none whom speak english or who even asked us how we were.

That summed up our rollercoaster ride of a weekend.  I had put a lot of thought into what to write for this post, some of it very eloquent.  But, in the end, this is what happened and this is life.  I always maintain that …..another cliche coming up here … when life hands you a lemon you should make  …… sangria !!!

We are all healthy and well.  Apart from Puggles whom has left a huge hole in our lives, we are alive.

I received this quote on Sunday which was very apt.

“Even a happy life cannot be without a measure of darkness, and the word happy would lose its meaning if it were not balanced by sadness ”  Carl Jung

Cheers

 


Leave a comment

Categories