Posted by: savayla | December 10, 2009

FarmVille

Would someone please enlighten me.  What the hell is up with FarmVille ?  Why does everyone play it ?  I absolutely refuse to get sucked into these time wasters that are thrust upon us.

Wikipedia describes it like this : FarmVille is a real-time farm simulation game developed by Zynga, available as an application on the social networking website Facebook. The game allows members of Facebook to manage a virtual farm by planting, growing and harvesting virtual crops, trees, and livestock.[2]Since its launch in June 2009,[3] FarmVille has become the most popular game application on Facebook with 63.7 million active users on November 9th, 2009.[4] FarmVille started as a duplicate of the popular Farm Town on Facebook.[5]

I researched it when I found out that a good friend of mine, an intelligent friend of mine, has started playing FarmVille.

I was flummoxed.  How could he have been drawn into this ?  I thought that maybe it was a game that perhaps enabled players to actually do some good in the world, to donate food or money.  No, it is simply a game.  An online farming game.

How sad.

Responses

  1. I agree – cant stand it. Who cares how many mielies your friend is growing, or how many cows they have milked. Its just weird weird weird………

  2. I have to say I agree too… this post did make me laugh. However, i suppose lots of people play these virtual games to escape … kind of like watching soaps on TV or something. I think it is simply just part of the society we live in and it’s sooooo easy to get sucked in. Whether you do or don’t, I suppose, is up to you. I choose don’t – so far 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

