Posted by: savayla | February 12, 2010

A week of Cats and Grapefruit Seed Extract

It has been a Cat Week.  I ended up going to the vets four times between Sunday evening and Wednesday morning.  Another great star for homeschooling.  The girls are avid animal rescue watchers, when it is on, and have had a lot of practice here.

Sunday evening we took Mrs. Cat, one of the strays that we took over from the previous apartment owners, to the vet as she had a broken something.  Turns out it was her pelvis.  6 weeks of cage rest for her .

Monday morning  Savannah runs when she hears some cats fighting, and comes back with a bloody wrist and scratches.  She stupidly got involved in the fight, and of course came off third best.  It was a deep puncture wound of about 1 cm long and needed stitches.  There was a smaller one on the other side.  Kyle spent the morning riding around Langkawi, looking for butterfly stitches, as we know that Savannah will not let a needle near her.  She screams blue murder when she has a simple splinter in her foot.   I had to go later as the pharmacy in Cenang only opens at around 12pm.

What was nice is that we had done a rice plant (padi) for our nature walk journal that morning, and I ended up taking them to the Laman Padi rice museum , including a large field with rice plants at different stages of planting , which was down the road.  It was really interesting.

Visited Mrs. Cat at the vets on the way back.

Tuesday morning.  Savannah is all bandaged up and I think I can get school started.  As we begin, they happen to notice  another new stray whom we had named Socks, down by the pool.  And he is limping.    A friendly, thin male .  So, school stops again, they catch him, and we take him to the vets to be neutered.

Wednesday morning.  We are sitting down to school, nature walk and circle time all done.  As we begin, Mommy Cat, another stray, rocks up to eat.  We have been trying to trap her for months.  She is wild, and the mother of all the cats around here, including Splat, our cat.   Savannah had rigged up the cage with a piece of rope attached to the door, and we have been working hard at getting her to trust us being around, and to get into the cage.  Although her back legs were out, we managed to get her.  Back to the vets, with a blanket over her as she was literally spitting mad.

Hello Tim.  The vet, Tim, just laughs when he sees me for the 4th time this week.

Why I brought up the Grapefruit seed extract, is because of Savannah’s wound.  Being into natural remedies, we had cleaned the wound in a solution of water, a drop of lavender, a drop of tea tree and a drop of rose geranium.  This always works wonders and I have done many “ops” with this solution.  The rose geranium also relaxes the patient as it smells so wonderful.

But, we did not soak it as we should have.  We noticed the next day that there was a slight infection as her hand was getting red and swollen. So we took off the stitches, and soaked it for an hour in the same solution, while I read Laura in the Woods to them.  Afterwards, we put some tea tree  direct onto the stitches, but this proved to be a mistake, as it should have been diluted.  I was giving her my trusty Grapefruit seed extract orally.  I never travel without it as it is a very strong natural antibiotic, and what is fantastic, is that unlike chemical antibiotics which are only used for bacterial infections, this can be used for viral infections too.

The next day the red had spread a bit more so I did some more research and learnt that I can actually put the grapefruit seed extract directly onto the wound.  So we did this, over the stitches, twice a day.  The next morning it was completely down, the red gone.

I really love Grapefruit Seed Extract and have used it on many occasions as an antibiotic.  It has always worked.  That and my jar of beeswax ointment are my work horses in this house.

This episode spurred me onto giving my medicine bag a shake down, buying a smaller red, emergency bag to stick in my goodies for burns, cuts, bites, wounds, splinters, and stings.  Now we are all set to go with my travelling emergency kit.  Yeah.  I far prefer putting a kit together myself than buying those overpriced kits in the shops.

The cat wound

Responses

  1. Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to understand so much approximately this, such as you wrote the ebook in it or something. I believe that you just could do with a few percent to pressure the message house a bit, but instead of that, that is excellent blog. An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

  2. Steve, what I meant was that Grape-Fruit seed extract works on both viral and bacterial infections, unlike antibiotics, which only works on bacterial.


Leave a Reply

Categories

