Posted by: savayla | May 17, 2010

Leek and potato soup

Why oh why has it taken me 20 years to make leek and potato soup ?  In fact, I am embarrassed to say that I don’t recall every buying a leek before in my life !!   Why now after all these years ?  Well, they are in season here in New Zealand, on the South Island , and wherever I drive I am surrounded by hundreds of rows of leeks as I live in a farming area.

So, I plucked up the courage, especially after seeing a few men pop a huge leek into their baskets.  They are big and gorgeous here. The leeks, that is !!!

Today I spent the afternoon painting my consonant Town Board for school.  I did it outside amongst the twittering birds and clucking hens and it was really delightful.  I  was so absorbed in what I was doing that it was only when I felt the cold in my back, that I realised that the day was over and I had to go inside and start preparing supper.

I had planned on making lamb shanks but that was out the window.  As it was chilly, I thought I would try leek soup, as I had bought two lovely leeks, a week apart, and they were calling to me to try them out.  We buy our vegetables directly from the farmers, so they stay fresh far longer than from a supermarket.

It is so simple yet so delicious.  2 big leeks, finely chopped, 4 cloves garlic, crushed and chopped, two potatoes finely chopped,  butter, organic vegetable stock and some salt and pepper.  Simply saute the leeks in the butter (I used about 4 Tbs butter ) for 10 minutes .  Add the garlic and fry for 1 minute.  I could eat it right like that !!!!  Then add your potatoes, your stock and boiling water (I guess about 1 – 1  1/2 litres ).  Salt and pepper.   Bring to the boil and then let simmer for about half and hour.  Get a potato masher and mash the potatoes a bit.

I added half a cup of rice milk to make it creamy.  And once the   beer bread came out of the oven, I burnt my fingers while cutting it and slathering butter which melted immediately on top of it.  And it was ready !!

What a wholesome, cheap and delicious meal for a cool autumn / winter night.  Even Savannah loved it .  Ayla doesn’t eat soup so she got hot beer bread, cheese, cucumber and raw beans .  She loves her raw veges !!  Just wish she would eat soup now !!

Leave a Reply

Categories

