Posted by: savayla | August 1, 2010

Tuna burgers

I have always wanted to make fish burgers.   Not just those horrible, dry, smashed potato filled burgers you tend to stumble upon, but ones like they make in Thailand.  Full of taste and temptation, with a wicked dipping sauce.

I have never done it, because my stomach has a love / hate relationship with gluten, and it usually calls for about a cup of breadcrumbs.   Yes, I could do gluten free, but, my diet gets more complicated than that, as I also combine.  This means no mixing carbohydrates and protein.

The other day I had an epiphany .  Why could I not use finely ground almonds.  Almond meal.  In South Africa it was expensive, but here, in the bins, it is not.

So the search was on for a really good recipe.  Unfortunately for me, I literally missed the boat on this one.  Most of the recipes called for fresh tuna.  Whilst  living on the yacht in Hout Bay, I had them offloading fresh tuna all around me, every day, and it was super cheap.  I have not even seen it here in New Zealand, and knowing them, they will probably put a Japanese price on its head.

So I went for the next best, tinned tuna.  I had no idea if it would work as it can be dry. But I had a very large tin lurking in my cupboard, pleading for something more exotic than tuna salad.

Well, here is my recipe.  I usually comb through a few recipes, get the idea of what it should contain, then mix and match until I find something to my liking.  These were seriously good.

1 large tin of tuna in oil (not brine as these are drier, and did you know that the Omega 3 are destroyed in the brine but not in the oil ? )   Well drained.

1 egg, lightly beaten

1/3 – 1/2 cup almond meal

1/3 cup finely grated carrot

1 green onion, chopped finely (not too finely )

1/3 cup red pepper, finely chopped

1/3 cup chopped fresh coriander leaves (I know it as dhanya )

1 Tbs finely grated  fresh ginger

1 Tbs soy sauce

1 tsp sesame oil

A few good dashes fish oil   (Vietnamese or Thai is the best.  I always have this in my cupboard )

salt and pepper to taste

Simply put all of the ingredients into a bowl and mix really well.

Roll them into balls and then flatten slightly.  This made about 15 small patties.

Put onto a plate, and refrigerate.

When needed, roll them lightly in some rice flour and then fry lightly for a few minutes in a pan.

I served them on a bed of lettuce, with some home-made roti (that were not good so I won’t bother putting the recipe down .  Need to find a better recipe ), and some dipping sauces.

I will write down another post for the dipping sauces.  All can be used.

Or, you can simply do some sweet chilli sauce, mixed with a tablespoon of soy sauce.

Enjoy

PS.  For those of you with finicky eaters, I made a few for Ayla with just the carrot and a bit of the egg.  She hated them !!!  Ha ha .  She doesnt’ like tuna.  So

Leave a Reply

Categories

