Posted by: savayla | December 30, 2011

Almond Meal cheese muffins

These muffins are my bread, rice, potatoes …. my staple.  I eat them with stews, with butter and jam for breakfast, with my curries, etc etc.  They are my bread and I can’t do without them.  Before them, I was literally starving myself as I follow a gluten-free plus food combining diet.  Now I am a happy camper 🙂

2 eggs

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup olive oil

2 cups almond meal

4 tsp baking powder

2 Tbs fresh parsely, chopped fine

1 1/2 cups grated cheese (if you omit, then add some extra almond meal )

milk (Hmmm, not giving a quantity here as it all depends on the amount of almond meal you put in, and cheese )

1/2 cup cooked bacon, chopped fine (optional)

  • Beat egg, salt and oil
  • Mix almond meal, baking powder, cheese , bacon, and parsley
  • Add egg mix to almond mix
  • Add enough milk to give you a wet but still stiff texture, almost like thick porridge.
  • Mix all together lightly
  • Spoon into 12 muffin cases
  • Bake at 190 degrees celcius for 15-20 minutes
  • Turn out and cover with cloth till cool
  • I keep them in the fridge in a tupperware and take it out when needed
Responses

  1. can I use ham instead of bacon

    • I don’t see why not. Just remember to keep them in the fridge and then you can heat them up. I do it on top of our toaster. Sometimes I don’t put as much cheese in, but a bit more meal.

  2. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your article seem to be running off the screen in Opera.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but
    I thought I’d post to let you know. The style and design look great
    though! Hope you get the issue solved soon. Many thanks


Leave a Reply

Categories

